Sugar Labs @ NDSU

Building a smarter computing culture in Fargo, ND

My Christmas Dragon


I am blogging from here in Pretoria, South Africa.  I wish I brought an XO with me.

I remember how the XOs could not connect to the NDSU network and that made me wonder about use in South Africa since all internet is pass-something protected and very slow.  You pay for bandwidth and when you reach your limit, you’re done until you call and buy more.  Also, certain times of the day, the internet is intentionally slower.  Also, the plugs here are VERY different.  Three pronged and round and 240V.  I’m no computer expert but it makes me wonder about compatibility and electricity.  Looking around South Africa, you don’t see a lot of internet cafes or open places for people to use internet or computers for a fee.  It’s definitely tied to the house and the richer houses too.  My youth pastor has an iPad for preaching but I have yet to see an Apple Store.  Perhaps there are stores in Sandton?  And when I talk about open places to use technology, I even refer to the poorer lower income places such as Soweto or Hilbrow.  In the Philippines, in the squatter areas, you had internet cafes everywhere.  Here, no.  Because of crime, technology is out of reach.  I wonder if having a low-cost laptop is even worth giving to children if they’re going to get nicked.

Speaking of things getting nicked,my MacBookPro was stolen on the airplane.  I have to write this on my father’s computer here in ZA.  I wish I brought an XO instead.

On a lighter note, here’s a dragon I drew earlier for The Guardian’s “How To…” contest:

About phusaza

A little green leaf fallen far from the tree.

One comment on “My Christmas Dragon

  1. Bob Braxton
    December 26, 2011

    Same electric where we partner in Kenya (East Africa) – 240 V
    When OLPC provided the hundred units (summer of 2009) we got the “local” (Africa / British) power plugs / adapters supplied (green) by OLPC. Very good to know about deliberate slowing certain parts of the day. We intend to go back again (to Kenya).

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 26, 2011 by in Uncategorized.

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 952 other followers

