Sugar Labs @ NDSU

Building a smarter computing culture in Fargo, ND

SoaS in Virtual Box Update


Davin delivered 25 small SoaS sticks (for machines with under a Gig Ram like mine) and 15 big (for machines with 2GB or larger RAM), both running SoaS through a Virtual Box. I’m running Surf off my small stick right now, and while I liked the plug and play, Sugar loaded very, very slowly. Surf seemed to fail the first time I launched it, but it loaded the second time.  Acceptable, but not stellar performance.

We also loaded up the NDSU image of Sugar with 20 some activities; the circle did not fully display upon start up.  Mainly lost activity icons on the bottom portion of the circle.

Davin will be making some straight-up SoaS for us, and we will test all three. He mentioned a basic CS principle: easier to use, less power.  So, the straight-up stick should be the highest performing, but potentially the hardest to access and get started.

Davin also mentioned that getting the SoaS in a VB image (all packaged in a folder) allowed it to be copied–quick and easy.  Each SoaS has to be made from scratch. More time consuming; not so user friendly when it comes to making 500 sticks.

 

One comment on “SoaS in Virtual Box Update

  1. phusaza
    October 15, 2011

    I took a SoaS VB home and tried it on my HP G62 laptop. It was slow… but I am a child of the 21st Century and thus have no patience. I tried a few things like closing as many things in my “other” Windows 7 bit to make it faster and that helped… I think. I think it needs to go fasters in order to work for 21st Century kids. And I found launching it from a Virtual Box a bit… odd? Definitely “looked” scary but I figured it out in a few seconds how to open the whole thing. So user-friendly wise, it’s intimidating looking but dead easy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 12, 2011 by in Sugar.

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 952 other followers

