Sugar Labs @ NDSU

Building a smarter computing culture in Fargo, ND

Sugar Labs@NDSU Team Update


Sugar Team,

Here’s what’s going on and where you can situate yourself on the team:

Software Freedom Day at NDSU, 09/16/2011 @ NDSU MU
Between 10am and 1pm, we will have a booth setup in the Memorial Union in conjunction with the local ACM chapter for Software Freedom Day. This will be a unique chance for you to interact with students, talk about the project, or frankly learn more about the project by talking about the project.

Our goals for the booth will be to increase awareness about our project, promote the Sugar Labs and OLPC programs, as well as provide a handout that provides instructions on how to create their own SoaS.

Please email me, Chris, if you’re interested.

Debricking XO Laptops
We just received our 10 XO laptops today, so we need to “debrick” them. I think this project will create a nice usability project for us to potentially develop improved documentation on this process. We should consider even making a new document and even a video for the community.

I’d really like to consider how we might utilize this opportunity, so if you’re interested or have other ideas, please let me know.

Tech Team Lesson Plans
I’ve started to sketch up a 12 week lesson plan for the tech team this year. I would really love to work on this project with more people, so I have started a public Google Doc.

I know all of you have no Sugar experience yet, but I see this document as a potential guide for other tech teams out there to utilize, and it will be developed throughout the semester, as we engage with the tech team at Madison.

Sugar Labs Listservs
Here are some suggestions on what mailing lists you can join:

Funding/Grant Writing Ops
We want to establish some stability for this project, so we need people to research and write grants for funding.

SoaS Sticks for everyone
Kevin will be going to Madison tomorrow, meeting with the new principal, so he should also be able to grab some SoaSs for everyone. Kevin or myself will let you know when they’re in…

Regular Meeting Times
We want to establish a meeting time that works for everyone, and we pitched the idea to meet on Tuesdays at 9:30am. Perhaps, once or twice a month?

If this time doesn’t works for you, please let me know right away, so I can create another Doodle.com table to find a time slot that works for everyone.

WordPress Accounts
We’d love for each of you to start blogging about your own Sugar adventures, trials, or other tech related ideas. If you have a WordPress account, please send me your email attached to that account via email at chris[dot]lindgren@my[dot]ndsu[dot]edu, and I can add you to this blog.

Alright, here we go, Sugar Team!

–Chris

5 comments on “Sugar Labs@NDSU Team Update

  1. phusaza
    September 15, 2011

    9:30 AM on Tuesdays work for me. I am definitely interested in learning how to de-brick the XOs. I’m a learn by seeing and then tinkering so I definitely want to know how you do it. And I’m interested in grant writing. I’m not so good at writing lessons. I know David is.

  2. Chris Lindgren
    September 15, 2011

    Thanks for the quick response, Emily. I’ll let you know more about the debricking party plan later.

    Also, for David, here’s a link to the Rushkoff lecture that I promised you.🙂

  3. Jade Sandbulte
    September 15, 2011

    I’m most interested in the usability testing and working on the documentation. The Tech Team lesson plans also seems interesting, but I would want to wait until I understand Sugar better.

  4. davidlemke113
    September 15, 2011

    9:30 works for me as well, I’d be interested both in debricking the XOs as well as working on the tech team plan.

  5. Jade Sandbulte
    September 15, 2011

    Since I’m sure you’re all dying to know: SoaS does work on laptops without hard drives. Also, for the 9:30 morning, it’s the same as before: I can be there for part of it, but I would need to leave early.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 14, 2011 by in team update.

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 952 other followers

