Sugar Labs @ NDSU

Building a smarter computing culture in Fargo, ND

Making my own Sugar on a Stick


Chris and I tried to make SoaS on my office Mac, but failed. I tried the process on my little Netbook, and after a series of missteps, I succeeded. Downloading the Live US Creator and Fedora ISO was easy, but my initial attempts to write the ISO to the stick were failures. I was trying to use some USBs that my laptop could not read as removable devices–I saw that was covered in the FAQs. But the answer in the FAQ did not work: I could not enter a command that would work.

My wife gave me a USB–8GB–that worked, but I forgot to set the number that had to do with saving to a non-zero number. I was also disappointed to learn that I could only set it to about 6,500MB — that’s why the sticks seem like they don’t have much storage space, I think. My 8GB stick is going badly underused.

I discovered my inability to save because of my 0 on the permanent whatever slider, but I was able to write over the first installation, although even that was a little fussier than I wished. When I finally got everything up and running, I downloaded a number of activites, including the Gutenberg Ereader. I tried to listen to G.K. Chesterton’s What’s Wrong with the World but the computer voice is hard to process while multitasking.

Sugar crashed on me 3X while dowloading activities–not a confidence builder, but my work was almost always saved completely and the restart was quick and easy.

I spent about an hour writing the K and the E of my name in Turtle Blocks. Challenging little puzzle / program for someone like me with no real programming experience. Helps me understand a little bit how something like Second Life is built on 3D grid.

Overall, Sugar remains a program for the patient user, a medium of exploration and potential, but more challenges and frustrations than the average user is going to put up with.

One comment on “Making my own Sugar on a Stick

  1. Frederick Grose
    February 24, 2011

    If you have a CD-ROM reader/writer, try burning the SoaS iso file to a CD. Then boot from that CD and follow the SoaS installation to USB instructions at
    http://wiki.sugarlabs.org/go/Sugar_on_a_Stick/Windows#Burn_a_CD-ROM

    Post any problems to http://lists.sugarlabs.org/listinfo/soas or soas@lists.sugarlabs.org

    –Fred

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2011 by in Sugar.

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 952 other followers

